Hans Christian Andersen Award 2016

Der Hans Christian Andersen Award – jährlich vergeben vom International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY)– ist eine der wichtigsten internationalen Auszeichnungen im Bereich Kinderliteratur. In diesem Jahr erhalten ihn die deutsche Illustratorin Rotraut Susanne Berner und der chinesische Schriftsteller Cao Wenxuan.

 IBBY über Rotraut Susanne Berner:

„Berner’s work is at all times recognizably hers, while simultaneously being intensely responsive to the demands of the text, or in the case of the Wimmel Books, to the specific world of a very specific town.  She is willing to take risks—The Princess Will Arrive at Four is a brilliant example of this as is the fairytale comic book, Definitely Not for the Little Ones, and When Death Came for a Visit, written by Jürg Schubiger. Her books can be hilariously funny, and equally deeply moving.  And she doesn’t fear showing life’s dark moments.

The Wimmel Books are an exemplar of how to construct an elaborate and complex world filled with small important narratives that can engage the viewer for hours through purely visual story telling power.  Berner never talks down to her audience and yet her books are unmistakably for children. Children all over the world deserve to be exposed to her brilliant, humane, rich, emotionally true and deeply engaging books.“

Auf der Shortlist für den Preis:

Germany:  Rotraut Susanne Berner, Iran: Pejman Rahimizadeh, Italy: Alessandro Sanna, Korea: Suzy Lee, Netherlands: Marit Törnqvist

China: Cao Wenxuan, Denmark: Louis Jensen, Germany: Mirjam Pressler, Netherlands: Ted van Lieshout, USA: Lois Lowry

Mehr über IBBY und den Hans Christian Andersen Award hier.

(Red. CS)